Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

For more information about your transportation benefits, call Louisiana Healthcare Connections Member Services at 1-866-595-8133 (Hearing Loss: 711) Monday through Friday from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. and we will be happy to assist you!

No. The transportation service cannot provide transportation to the ER.

Seven (7) days a week, 24-hours a day. Call 1-855-369-3723 for an urgent care trip.

Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., excluding holidays.

Call 1-855-369-3723 right away if there is a change in your schedule. If possible, please call at least 24 hours before the scheduled trip.

  • Medicaid I.D. Number for the member needing a ride
  • Name and complete physical address for location of appointment
  • Date and time of appointment

The entire state of Louisiana as well as portions of Texas, Arkansas and Mississippi.

You must be ready at least ONE HOUR before your scheduled appointment time. You will be reminded of this time frame when you call to schedule your ride.

The driver will contact you when he or she arrives at your pick-up location. The driver will wait ten (10) minutes for you. If you don't respond in ten (10) minutes, the driver may leave and mark the trip as a "no show." Remember: Drivers may not enter homes or facilities.

  • A member who is at least 18-years of age or older
  • A member’s parent, legal guardian or authorized representative
  • Your Louisiana Healthcare Connections Case Manager or representative; a clinical provider and/or health care facility representative.

If you know in advance you will need to pick one up, simply add the pharmacy on to the trip when you are making your reservation.  Your driver will stop there on the way home.  If you do not know ahead of time, just let the driver know when you get picked up after your appointment.

Yes. The transportation service can pick you up from the ER once a discharge order has been issued for you. Call 1-855-369-3723 and tell them you need same-day picked up from the ER. Because of the short notice, there may be a 1-3 hour wait until the driver can pick you up.

Yes. Any trip over 50 miles one way must be authorized by Louisiana Healthcare Connections. The exception is for hospital discharges only. These will not require authorization from Louisiana Healthcare Connections. The transportation service will contact Louisiana Healthcare Connections directly to get authorization approvals. 

No. You are responsible for bringing a car seat, that complies with state law requirements, or your own wheelchair.

Louisiana Healthcare Connections covers all transportation to and from non-emergency medical appointments for our members. This includes transportation to other Medicaid-covered services not covered by Louisiana Healthcare Connections.

You and one additional passenger are allowed. Additional passengers will be accommodated on a space-available basis. You will be asked at the time of scheduling your ride to determine the number of passengers.

  • Ambulatory sedan, van, taxi
  • Wheelchair lift-equipped vehicle
  • Volunteer mileage reimbursement
  • Public transit (voluntary)

You must call at least 48-hours (2 business days) before your scheduled appointment. Urgent care appointments do not need two days notice to schedule a ride.

If your ride is late or you have questions, comments or concerns, you may call the "Where's My Ride?" line at 1-855-369-3724.